Club Honours

2nd XI Cup Success 2004 A full list of all individual and team awards is shown at the bottom of the page, and we also have a page showing all our yearly average and achievement award winners, but here are some highlights ...

Bury and District Sunday League - the 1st XI captured 6 league titles and 4 cups between 1912 and 1945, while the seconds captured 7 gongs between 1911 and 1928

NMCL Division 1 Champions: 1965, 1966, 1967 (joint), 1998, 1999
NMCL Division 1 Runners-Up: 1964, 1971, 1995, 1996, 2006, 2007, 2008
NMCL Division 2 Champions: 1959, 1991
NMCL Calverley Cup (Div 1) Winners: 1964, 1971, 1972, 1998, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2010
NMCL Calverley Cup (Div 1) Runners-Up: 1989, 1996
NMCL Hodson Challenge Cup (Div 2) Winners: 1970
NMCL Division 3 Champions: 1970, 1987, 2015
NMCL John Murray Cup (Div 3) Runners-Up: 1987
NMCL Hunter Cup (Div 3) Runners-Up: 1996, 1999
NMCL Division 4 Champions: 2014
NMCL Cyril Fletcher Cup (Div 4) Runners-Up: 2014
Steve Grognet Memorial Trios Trophy: 1989, 1993, 1996
GMCL Div 4W - promotion 2017
GMCL Div 2A Champions - 2022

The double winning side of 1998
The double winning side of 1998
Back Row L-R: S.Morris, M.Parkinson, N.G.Hudson, R.Brooks, C.Barrett, S.Moriarty
Front Row L-R: M.Vernon, P.Meehan, F.Brockway(c), A.Parkinson, C.Brooks(w/k)

Individual Honours

A number of Saints players have been awarded NMCL league honours down the years, while in recent times Clive Brooks, Ashley Parkinson, Russ Brooks and Paul Meehan have all represented the combined NMCL league side. In 2010, Neil Butterworth captained the interleague team, a side for which Ashley, Paul and Si Marsh were also initially selected.

NMCL Captain of the Year - Steve Hinchley (2nd XI, 1985)
NMCL Most Promising Young Player - Al Vernon, 1966
NMCL Players Player of the Year - Paul Meehan, 1995, 1998, 1999; Ashley Parkinson, 2006, 2008

A number of players won NMCL divisional awards for batting and bowling (including Steve Moriarty, Paul Meehan, Simon Marsh and Ashley Parkinson), while Clive Brooks has taken home 5 trophies as the 1st division's top wicketkeeper. Ashley took the batting award for the league in 2006 and 2008, while Paul won the 1st Division bowling in 2007, after being 2nd several times. Newcomer Simon Marsh just pipped Paul to take the 1st Division bowling in 2008, and would have walked away with the league batting in 2009 but for falling one innings short of qualification. Ash and Paul won the Players Player of the Year (as voted for by players of the member clubs) 5 times between them.

In 2015 Mike Watts became the first TSJCC skipper to win back to back promotions as the 2nds won the NMCL Division 3 title to add to 2014's Division 4 crown.

Kath Brooks has also won numerous 1st Division Scorer awards!

In 2017, Si Marsh became the first TSJ player to win an individual award in the GMCL, by capturing the Div 4 West bowling trophy!

Current league honours

Greater Manchester Cricket League (established 2016)

1st XI - promotion from Div 4W in 2017, Div 2A champions 2022
Si Marsh - Div 4W bowling award 2017

Women's Lancashire Thunder League (established 2017)

40 over competition runners up 2017
T20 competition runners up 2017

Summary of previous league honours

I Will if You Will Biffaward

Beryl Avenue, Tottington, Bury, BL8 3NF
Twitter: @TottyStJohnsCC